Digital service standard criteria

The digital service standard criteria are best-practice principles for designing and delivering government services. The criteria help teams to build services that are simple, clear and fast.

Who is this for?

The digital service standard applies to new and existing public-facing services of all government departments, government corporations and agents of the Government of Yukon unless specifically granted exception.

This includes all departments as well as the Yukon Development Corporation, the Yukon Housing Corporation and the Yukon Liquor Corporation.

Find out more about the scope of the standard.

The criteria

Services need to be assessed to make sure they meet the 14 criteria. A service must pass all criteria and be approved by eServices for Citizens before it can be released to the public.

Contact to request a review.

1. Understand user needs

Research to develop a deep knowledge of a service’s users and their context for the service.

2. Do ongoing user research

Develop a plan to conduct ongoing user research and usability testing of the service. The results of this research will continuously inform how we can improve it.

You must allow users to tell you what they think of your service while using or once they’ve finished using it. You can do this with a feedback form.

3. Have a multidisciplinary team

Put in place a suitable multidisciplinary team that can design, build and operate the service, led by a suitably skilled, adequately resourced and senior service manager with decision-making responsibility.

4. Use agile methods

Build your service using agile and user-centred methods as set out in the standard. Continuously and frequently iterate and improve on the service.

5. Understand security and privacy issues

Evaluate what user data and information the digital service will be providing or storing, as well as its location and retention schedule. Address security levels, legal responsibilities, privacy issues and risks associated with operating the service.

6. Use open and common standards

Build using open standards and common government technology platforms including the eServices Platform.

7. Deliver a bilingual service

Create a service available in both English and French.

8. Test the end-to-end service

Test the end-to-end service in an environment identical to that of the live version. Tests are to include all required web browsers and devices using test accounts and a representative sample of users. Include pre-scripted tests run by a computer (automated) and user acceptance tests (manual).

9. Make it accessible

Ensure the service is accessible to all users regardless of their ability and environment.

Government of Yukon strives for compliance with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, Level AA.

10. Have a plan for being offline

Know what to do in the event of the digital service being taken temporarily offline and unavailable. Users expect that an online service is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year so you need to know how people will be affected and how to get it back online.

11. Encourage everyone to use the digital service

Encourage all people to use the digital service alongside an appropriate plan to phase out non-digital channels and services. Until the non-digital options are phased out, ensure these channels and services can be used without repetition or confusion.

12. Collect and report on performance data

Use recommended tools to collect performance data and establish benchmarks in order to measure the success of the service. Use this data to analyze the service and to translate this into features and tasks for the next phase of iterative improvement.

13. Test with senior stakeholders

Test the service from end-to-end with senior stakeholders, such as Directors and Deputy Ministers before it goes to public beta and live. These people are responsible for the delivery of the service and are accountable for what’s produced by their branch or department.

14. Make the user experience consistent

Build a service consistent with the user experience of the rest of government including using design patterns, style guide and common platform components.

Last update:
mai 8, 2019